Candy and sweets taking over! >

Candy and sweets taking over!

Community
Notices

Candy and sweets taking over!

Old 04-15-2010, 01:31 PM
FitDay Member

Default Candy and sweets taking over!

I am new to this and thought I'd give it a try...maybe some support will help me lose the lbs I want. My complete goal is 50 lbs but I want to lose close to 40 before July because we are going to mexico! I had a baby in November but I started my weight lose goal in January. I had since lost 18 lbs but at a stand still...mostly because I can't stop eating candy/sweets. I mean the easy thing to do would be just to not buy them but I have a 7 year old in the house who is addicted to sweets as well...but he only gets them once a day after dinner(desert)....

any suggestions it's like when I eat one I want two....etc.
I need to lose this weight I'm motivated to do so...I've also been working out about 20 min a day...hoping that works too!
Old 04-15-2010, 02:20 PM
FitDay Premium Member

Sorry Tiffany,
Really, the only thing to do is to not bring sweets into the house. As you found out, once you have 1 it is really hard to stop.

A once-a-day sweet treat for you son is OK, but you could substitute something else for him too. It will help him in the long run. If there is no way to change your son's habits (7 year olds can be terrors when they don't get what they want- as I'm sure you know) One idea is to try the pre-pack fat free puddings or pre-packed jello. Yogurts (not all kids like then, though) would provide some nutrition while satisfying the sweet tooth. Or take him out for a treat instead of keeping a supply in the house.

I know folks like to recommend substituting fruit - and it is a great idea for those that like fruit in the evening. It's a breakfast thing for me, so that hasn't really worked.