Heart rate question... >

Heart rate question...

Community
Notices

Heart rate question...

Old 09-14-2012, 08:43 AM
FitDay Member

Default Heart rate question...

Hi everyone! ok, so I am quite new to the whole exercising thing. I am 26, and started going to the gym about 3 weeks ago.

Yesterday I went to the gym, and at level 14 on the cross trainer, doing 65 reps per minute, my heart rate stayed roughly between 145 and 150 bmp, which is fine. Today on the other hand, I went to the gym, and within about 10 minutes at level 14 doing 65 reps per minute, my heart rate was well up over 160. I had to come down to level 12 and 60 reps per min to get it back under 155bmp. Anyone care to speculate why that might be the case?

I don't really want to exercise at over 80% of my max heart rate, as I get so tired and can't carry on for more than a few mins when my HR gets that high. I just don't understand why today was such a difference....
Old 09-14-2012, 09:52 AM
FitDay Member

I noticed that my heart rate will fluctuate depending on my breathing. With thought , control, and full breathing I can stabilize my heart rate to carry me through . Im sure rest and stress could show up in heart rate too....Thats about all I know of.
Old 09-14-2012, 12:40 PM
FitDay Member

Could be several factors, none that should be a big concern. More sodium in your diet, and the second day in a row for the work out, so you came in with you muscles not fully recovered. Did you do any other exercises before the cross trainer? Was it the same machine? Each machine (even if the same make and model) tends to have its own differences in how they show heart rate, calorie burn, resistance, etc...

I always try to get the same machine but I do my cardio after weights so depending on which weight routine (arms & Shoulders, chest & back or Legs) I do before it effects my heart rate on the machine. I also notice that my heart rate is lower after a rest day than when I work out on consequetive days.