Notices

Strength Training without weights

Old 04-11-2010, 01:29 AM
FitDay Member

Question Strength Training without weights

G'day,

I am very new at this and I can't afford gym memberships or lots of expensive equipment. I've heard that, in addition to walking, I need to do some strength training. I was wondering if anyone has some ideas on exercises I can do with stuff around the home?

Thanks heaps.

f-w
Old 04-11-2010, 02:20 AM
FitDay Member

A lot of good help on this site.
Free Diet Plans at SparkPeople
Old 04-11-2010, 04:22 AM
FitDay Member

Fairy,

Some of my favorite exercises are bodyweight exercises like push-ups, lunges, and squats. If you have stairs or a few chairs you can do dips as well. With stairs you can even vary the height of your push-ups (experiment with feet on the ground, hands on the stairs - these will be easier; or hands on the ground, feet on the stairs - these will be harder).

To increase weight on these exercises, find a sturdy backpack and load it up with rocks, books, or any other heavy stuff you have around the house. A scale will tell you exactly how much you've put in there so you can keep track of your improvement on the squats, lunges and push-ups. From my experience a backpack doesn't work as well for dips, so when you get better at doing dips from the stairs, try doing them on the parallel bars at the local playground (also a good place to find pull-up bars!).

If you want to invest in some inexpensive equipment, try to find the Iron Gym pull-up bar. I found mine at CVS for something like $25. Even if you can't do a pull-up yet, just doing one is a great goal to shoot for and in the meantime you can use it for hanging knee raises (I prefer these to crunches for my abs).

Good luck!

-Nik
Old 04-11-2010, 04:34 PM
FitDay Member

Thank you very much for the advice!
Old 04-11-2010, 04:56 PM
FitDay Member