Notices

Starting weight lifting

Old 09-03-2010, 03:14 PM
FitDay Member

Default Starting weight lifting

Hello all! I'm new to FitDay and new to weight lifting.

Last Friday I joined a gym for the express purpose of starting to do weight training. I went through the orientation for the gym with a trainer, who suggested I start of with the weight machines for a month, then move to free weights.

My question is this - what is reasonable on the machines? My understanding is to lift the heaviest weight you can to build muscle. Slightly less at more reps for toning. The problem I'm having is that the weight I THINK will lead to fatigue for my legs I end up being able to do 15 reps. Granted, I feel a burn, but I can't say there is muscle failure. The only exception is working the quad extension. I lifted 85 lbs and could only do 10 reps before the burn was too much. For the squat thrust, I ended up doing 185. Inner and out thigh (2 machines) I did 175 for 15. Each machine I do for 2 reps. The only muscle that really burned was the quads.

Arms - not so much a problem. It's easy for me to reach fatigue on them.

So, just starting out - what should I be doing? Focus on the weaker muscules and not push the stronger? Or just go on each machine until I feel the burn?

Next question - I have very week central ab muscles. Sides are OK, but due to a very, ummmm, bad c-section (both lateral and horizonal cuts) the 'six pack' is more like a cube. Any suggestions? I've been doing the plank hold and only today was able to hold it for 30 seconds. From what the trainer told me, the abs are my weakest muscles and it's affecting my lower back.

Please understand that I only started doing some exercising when in my 30's. I've never been athletic and have been overweight since I was 7. I'm working hard to overcome childhood mental conditioning.

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-03-2010, 03:55 PM
FitDay Member