FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Newcomers (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/)
-   -   How to survive first few days of diet? (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/newcomers/7636-how-survive-first-few-days-diet.html)

mintchip01 06-11-2012 05:38 PM

How to survive first few days of diet?

Hello. I'm new to Fitday and new to this forum. I do think most of what I eat consists of good food choices.

But because I'm only 5'3", I easily go over my calorie allotment. I mean, even skim milk and chicken breasts add up relatively quickly!!! I guess my portion sizes are too large, or I eat too often.

Anyway, I have a feeling if my stomach would shrink a bit I would lose weight. The problem is that when I cut back I get soooooo hungry...I feel like I'm starving! How can I make it through the first few days? Usually it's at the end of the night that I make those bad choices, like eating peanut butter out of the jar :(

Saskiasrhythmbeads 06-11-2012 11:58 PM

I know what you mean Mintchip01.
Welcome. I'm also new, even though I was on here years ago for a little while. :-)
I'm your height, and weigh 74 kg (164 pounds) and want to go down to 60kg. Just started with calorie counting yesterday as I can't fit most of my shirts anymore. Big belly, like I'm pregnant but I'm not. Pear form, if you know what I mean.

I have the same thing....at night I get those urges to eat. Yesterday I went great with the calorie intake, up to almost midnight. Watching tv and people in the movie were eating. I got this urge for oisters with some bread with a bit of red wine.....so there I went. I bet I was way over my calorie limit.

So...have to fight those moments with something. Still figuring out how and with what. I have to be stronger and choose for a strawberry or carrot to nibble on. I did walk the dog for a good 20 minutes last night, in a brisk walk.