Notices

Old 09-15-2011, 03:34 PM
FitDay Member

Cool Newbie

Hello! I am new to this weight loss journey!

I am a single mom to my little girl, who is almost two. I am going to school to become a nurse. I have to say, I was shocked one day when I found out that my BMI was in the 30s. . . And at 20, I didn't feel that I had an excuse to weigh this much, and show such disrespect for my body. So I decided to get my act together and lose weight. But I failed so many times, because I was unable to hold myself accountable. One day I randomly ran across FitDay, and decided to give it a try. This site has made things seem fun. I like filling in everything I ate, and what I did, even if I didn't meet my goal at all. It lets me know what I need to be aware of. The first time I entered my food into the tracker form, I had to remember all the food I had eaten, including the food I had consumed without paying attention. It has already helped, today I made the choice not to sit and eat.
I think this site will help me to change my life, and I will learn some tools to make sure I set a good example for my daughter.
Anyway, I am 5'9", and currently weigh 240 ish (don't have a scale yet)
And my goal is to be around 130-140 and fit (by the end of next year), as I have many athletic things I want to try but can't right now because I can't walk faster than a stroll without losing my breath.
My first mini-goal is to break 200 lbs.
Anyway, I hope to be posting in the success stories section one day!
Cheers
Old 09-15-2011, 04:07 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to FitDay! Logging your food can be a real eye opener for sure. Sounds like you're already getting some good use out of FitDay and finding the forum side will definitely help keep you accountable.

I'd you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. We also just started FitDay Beta. There is a link as an announcement at the top of every forum. Feel free to check it out. It's still in the works but we are looking for feedback.