Notices

Hello I'm A Newbie!!!!!!!

Old 06-13-2011, 05:11 AM
FitDay Member

Default Hello I'm A Newbie!!!!!!!

My biggest weakness in all of this is maintaining once I get started. Are there any suggestion to hanging on to the motivation?
Old 06-13-2011, 11:42 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Lots of us find that just posting our daily log gets a bit addictive. Some folks use the logs to plan their meals for the day, which is really helpful. You can see right away whether you are better off with that grilled rueben sandwich, or a nice veggie wrap for lunch.

Planning is the key to success here, and yes at some point all of us have gotten a little obsessive with the calorie counting, it can be part of the learning processes. So one way to stay motivated is to log in at least once a day and start entering your foods, activites, profile. Work with the weight goal tool and check the forums from time to time. Lots of inpiration there/here!
Old 06-13-2011, 01:09 PM
Super Moderator

shenash, along with what Pam said (and I notice Pam did not tell you to pick out some new clothes, though that works...sorry, Pam, couldn't resist, because I've been in the same boat), it may be helpful to join a thread, like the 7-Day-Motivational Thread in the Women's Corner section or the Lose 10% by July 4, or Friday Weigh In, or 100+ Pounds to Lose (if that fits). Somehow connecting with a group of regulars is very motivating. Good luck, and welcome!
Old 06-13-2011, 03:05 PM
FitDay Member

I find, for me, that a week is a good chunk of time for motivation. I use a planner and at the beginning of the week, I write down when I am going to exercise and what I am going to do. I also write down my food goals as well. As the week progresses, I circle the workouts I did with time and or distance (if its running or biking) next to it. Sometimes I write down the calories for each day as well.

Fitday actually does this a little in the calendar.