Notices

Hi ~ Newbie Here

Old 04-16-2011, 05:57 AM
FitDay Member

Default Hi ~ Newbie Here

Hello everyone,

I started Fitday and logged some of my foods and exercises.

I want to lose about 30 lbs maybe 35 lbs. What goal time should I give myself?

I am 54 yrs old, 5 ft 3 inches and weigh 172. The weight is not coming off. I run the treadmill 30 minutes a day and ride a bike (not stationary) about 3 times a week for 30 minutes.

I'm not quite sure if I am eating enough calories. I have entered my stats on many websites but they all come out different. I don't work, I am retired.

I have marked mostly seated with some movement for my lifestyle activity level.

Can someone help me figure the calories I need to eat to lose my weight? Any help would be appreciated,

Thank you so much
Old 04-16-2011, 12:21 PM
FitDay Member

1-2 lbs per week is safe number. Diet will play an important role is reaching your goal. You're keeping yourself active and should consider weight training.

Everybody is different with caloric intake. I suggest u gradually decrease it and try for 1600-2500 cals a day.
Old 04-16-2011, 01:00 PM
FitDay Member

Since I joined fitday and started logging my food I have never gone over 1400 or 1500? I believe 1600-2500 is way too many calories.

I should start some weight training, but still trying to see how many calories my body needs.

Congrats with your weigh loss and thanks for helping me.
Old 04-16-2011, 02:03 PM
FitDay Member

Calories are tricky. The body is clever and loves to store extra cals as fat. I take in about 2000-3000 a day, but train with heavy weights. Good luck and hang in there!
Old 04-16-2011, 06:10 PM
FitDay Member

Location: I live in LA, land of too much good food and too many underweight women.

Figuring out your calories is definitely like a science experiment and there are so many articles and calculators out there with varying answers.