Notices

Complete Newbie, but ready to try!

Old 01-05-2011, 05:29 AM
Super Moderator

Smile Complete Newbie, but ready to try!

Hi everyone!

I just wanted to introduce myself.

I'm currently 5'4 1/2 and weight 215 pounds at age 27 (F) -- I've always been a little bit chubby, but after going to grad school and working for my Ph.D., I've found that my weight has ballooned -- even though I got the doctorate this past May (yay Dr. Me!) I couldn't help but feel disappointed at all of the emotional eating I did, and the Sedentary Lifestyle that I had creep up on me. My eyes went out of my head when I stepped on the scale and I was over the 200 mark!

It's difficult for me to work out due to an ankle injury that makes impact difficult (treadmills and high-impact routines are completely out) but I've often used that as an excuse, more than simply as a creative way to find out how to work out.

I've never really settled on any kind of diet/exercise routine before, so I'm starting simple -- cutting calories to 1,500 a day, trying to limit aritificial sugar intake, eating more natural/whole food and figuring out an exercise routine that works. I'm taking it slowly - 30 minutes of cardio (HIIT) every other day right now, getting my ankle and body used to the routine -- but I am very excited to take over my own life!

Good luck to everyone, and happy New Year!
Old 01-05-2011, 05:32 AM
FitDay Member

Thumbs up

Congrats. You can do it!
Old 01-05-2011, 05:44 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Welcome to the forums! And congrats for taking control of your health issue now--it just gets harder if you put it off. A PhD--wow! At 46 I'm still working on my Master's.

Your weight loss approach sounds just like mine, and I can assure you that it will work, if you stick to it.

If you need any help or advice, just ask.

Regards,
Michael
Old 01-05-2011, 06:23 AM
Super Moderator