Notices

Just Starting

Old 12-01-2010, 12:06 PM
FitDay Member

Default Just Starting

Does anyone have any really successful ways to kick off your diet and exercise regimen? Or just any successful advice period? I am afraid I am going to let myself get off track again.

A little background: I am moderately active. Work full time and I am a student. I am a vegetarian.
Old 12-01-2010, 12:42 PM
FitDay Member

The best advice I can give you is to not kick start it, take it one baby step at a time, make each step a new healthy habit and change your lifestyle for the better.
Old 12-01-2010, 12:49 PM
FitDay Member

Default Thank you

That is actually great advice, thank you.
Old 12-01-2010, 12:59 PM
FitDay Member

That's the way I'm going -- baby steps. I just started this week and I plan to make one healthy change each week... easy ones to start. This week's goal is just to drink 8 glasses of water each day. I'm hoping if I make little changes over a long period of time, I will have a better chance of making my weight goal (and maintaining it).
Old 12-01-2010, 03:51 PM
FitDay Member

I agree, "diet" is a four-letter word. Small, manageable, permanent lifestyle changes is what's worked for me, and I'm still a work in progress one year in. Currently I'm working on finding quick healthy recipes to replace cooking from a box and Subway runs on my work days when there's not a lot of time to get dinner on the table.
Old 12-01-2010, 04:21 PM
FitDay Member

Default Agree.

Originally Posted by Lizzycritter
I agree, "diet" is a four-letter word. Small, manageable, permanent lifestyle changes is what's worked for me, and I'm still a work in progress one year in. Currently I'm working on finding quick healthy recipes to replace cooking from a box and Subway runs on my work days when there's not a lot of time to get dinner on the table.