Notices

Plateau frustration

Old 07-18-2014, 12:59 AM
FitDay Member

Default Plateau frustration

Hi, I'm a newbie here. I started watching my calories mid-April and so far have only managed to lose 11 lbs. I have always eaten healthy and exercised by walking my dogs everyday (which isn't much exercise since they're always stopping to sniff things). So I started making very low calorie meals mostly from the 5-2 diet books and trying to keep my calories to 1300-1500 a day. I also added a Zumba class once/week and a Firm workout video with weights that I do 1-2 times a week. Every other weekend I am in the mts doing strenuous hiking. So... What can I do to start losing again? I am 5'3" and currently weigh 142. I am not tempted by sweets or snack foods- my two indulgences are half and half in my coffee in the a.m. and a glass of wine at night! I would appreciate any suggestions besides giving up those things!! (Sometimes I cut out the wine already). I'm afraid I will have to start doing the 5/2 diet to make any progress but limiting myself to 500 calories a day even once a week is intimidating.
Old 07-18-2014, 01:11 AM
Super Moderator

You could shake up your physical activities routine a little bit. Drinking water more helps. Staying on track with the diet choices you already have made helps - then you just need to be patient, because it does take time.

You've already lost 11 pounds. That is great! At Weight Watchers, when I hit a plateau, I was told that eating more very lean protein (substituting it for some other food, not adding it to the diet...) helps. And it did. Also, that eating more vegetables and fruits (substituting it, not just adding it on) helps - and it did.

Those are carbs and protein. Fat is more than twice the calories, gram for gram, as either of them. So, if you see that in your meals, just be aware.
Old 07-20-2014, 12:17 AM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by Kathy13118