Notices

green smoothie/raw salad fast

Old 04-29-2013, 04:00 AM
FitDay Member

Default green smoothie/raw salad fast

Hi,
I'm new to FitDay and am starting a Green Smoothie/Raw Salad fast this week. I plan to stick to this fast/feast at least for the month of May. I'll post regular updates here!

Here's my story: I am a teacher and during the school year I find that I often gain a lot of weight. Last year was a particularly hard year, and by May 1st, I discovered that I'd gained a total of 15 pounds from the previous year's gain of 10 pounds. I was having all sorts of health problems as a result--from back pain to depression to acne. That's when I discovered green smoothies. I went on a raw salad (vegetables and fruits, a small amount of nuts, no dressing except for lime and/or salsa) and green smoothie-based diet. It was the perfect diet for me--in a matter of days, my whole life turned around. I felt a new sense of energy, and the weight began to come off rapidly. My skin cleared up. My back problems melted away.

Over the late spring and summer, I concentrated on taking as much time off as possible and getting back into a healthy state. I lost 15 pounds by August and as the new school year rolled around I was feeling healthy and energized.

I expected to keep losing weight, but as the fall began, I found myself in a new job, in a new city, with a whole truckload of new family health & career issues not related to me but impacting my whole family. I became the family caretaker. In addition to being stressed at work and trying to make friends and settle into a new community, I spent most of my time outside of work dealing with these family health & career issues.

May 2013 rolls around again, and I find that I have gained back 10 of the 15 pounds that I lost. I stopped drinking green smoothies and started eating more and more comfort food and drinking wine on a nightly basis. My depression is coming back, and I feel and look exhausted all the time.