Notices

Soy Milk - does it cause weight gain?

Old 09-10-2012, 01:55 AM
FitDay Member

Default Soy Milk - does it cause weight gain?

Hi there,

I have heard that soy milk contains a lot of estrogen and can cause weight gain. I had originally switched to it because I am no longer able t drink milk. I chalk that up to being menopausal...

I don't drink a lot of it but I have it in my coffee in the morning. However, I've gained about 14 pounds in the past four months and can't seem to shake them!

I am a part-time student and work full time. Luckily, I live on campus and can walk to work and take walks around the campus.

Is there any truth to soy milk's estrogen content and weight gain? If yes, is there anything else I can try?
Old 09-10-2012, 02:32 PM
FitDay Member

Everyone needs energy so try the fresh cow milk instead of soy milk...
Old 09-11-2012, 03:02 AM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by picasoflake
Everyone needs energy so try the fresh cow milk instead of soy milk...
She stated she can't drink regular milk, I assume lactose intolerant?

I have not heard of Soy of any kind causing weight gain anymore than any other food. Not to be insensitive but I find it hard to believe you gained 14lb. from just Soy milk in your coffee? Are you being honest with yourself? Are you logging your foods and acheiving a calorie deficit? What do your FAT/CARB/PROTEIN percentages look like?

I find I lose more weight if my Protein is at 30% of my calories. You need to experiment to find the combination that works for you?
Old 09-11-2012, 06:04 AM
Super Moderator

Dietary phytoestrogen intake--lignans ... [Cancer Causes Control. 2008] - PubMed - NCBI

It's phytoestrogens that were in various studies, I guess. But this study seemed to find nothing to worry about there.