FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Food talk (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/food-talk/)
-   -   Sugars same as alcohols? (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/food-talk/4111-sugars-same-alcohols.html)

donnastpeter 04-24-2011 07:17 AM

Sugars same as alcohols?

I'm relatively new to Fit Day and find the site easy to use. However, when filling in the nutrition chart for custom foods, I'm not quite sure what the term "alcohol" is referring to. I'm thinking that it may mean sugar alcohol in carbohydrates. Is this correct?:confused:

Kathy13118 04-24-2011 07:55 AM

I don't think there is even nutritional information for alcohol on most foods, and many, many foods contain sugar. I never noticed the alcohol in the custom foods, but if you were making a rum cake, there would be alcohol from the rum and you would put in how many grams.

I only see 'alcohol' show up in my pie chart on the days when I have a glass of wine, for example. If I have something with a lot of sugar on a certain day, there is never any alcohol showing up in my pie chart.

Wife2Mom 10-12-2011 06:04 AM

Sugars same as alcohols?

I am confused about sugar listed on labels under carbs. I also see alcohol listed in the same area. Are they the same thing?

wildbeanerz 10-12-2011 06:09 AM

No, Currently they don't track sugar in fitday just carbs. And alcohol is just...alcohol. :D

Welcome to the forums BTW!! :)

handcycle2005 10-12-2011 06:10 AM

Sugar alcohols(like sorbitol) are somewhat similar but sugar alcohols are lower in calories(2.6 per gram) and are not fully absorbed in the gut.
Alcohol in drinks are 7 calories per gram. You can calculate alcohol consumed here.

mtjls 11-08-2011 11:59 PM

Counting our sugar usage