Community
Notices

Calorie restriction?? Please answer

Old 01-16-2011, 09:33 AM
FitDay Member

Question Calorie restriction?? Please answer

hi Im new to fitday and I think its really cool but I was just wondering:

WHAT IS CALORIE RESTRICTION?!??!

they gave me a number, its like 1,900 something and I dont exactly know what to do with this. does it mean I need to eat 1900 and that will result in lost weight? or does it mean I need to eat less than this to lose weight??

please help!!! im so confused!!

thanks!!
Old 01-16-2011, 11:34 AM
Super Moderator

if you entered a weight loss goal and time, it means that's what you'd have to eat to reach your goal.
Old 01-16-2011, 11:42 AM
FitDay Member

Calorie restriction is a deficit in calories consumed vs burned. There are three ways to go about creating a deficit (restriction). You can increase your burn rate by increasing activity, while keeping the same consumption. You can decrease consumption by eating less, while keeping the same activity. And last but not least you can do a combination of both.

*Go to the profile tab and enter all of the correct data. Sex, birthday, height, activity level, etc.

*Then click on the weight goals tab. Enter the current and goal weight with their dates.

*Then click on the calorie balance tab (same page as goal weight).

You will then see;

Calories You Burn - Calorie Restriction = Calories You Can Eat

Hope this helps. Welcome aboard and good luck!
Old 01-16-2011, 01:29 PM
FitDay Member

Question

I kind of understand...but my problem is that the "calories you can eat" part of the equation is at 0. so that means I can eat nothing?! thats why I'm confused....it might be because I haven't entered any activities or anything so my calories burned is lower than the second number.