FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   FitDay Classic Feedback and Support (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/fitday-classic-feedback-support/)
-   -   Volume measurements no longer an option (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/fitday-classic-feedback-support/1916-volume-measurements-no-longer-option.html)

r_wichman 09-03-2010 12:02 AM

Volume measurements no longer an option

Why is it that I can no longer create a custom food that has a volume measurement... i.e. cup. The only options I see now are weighted measurements.

mlschaeffer 11-03-2010 02:17 AM

Yes!

I totally agree. I am new to Fitday and find this very frustrating. When adding custom foods, it would be easier to add the serving as 1/4 c. or 1 t., etc. Also when estimating the quantity of a portion, for example, from a restaurant meal, it is easier to eyeball the quantity as 1/2 c. for example rather than 3 oz. Did they just change this recently?

rusty_u 11-18-2010 01:17 AM

Agreed, this needs to come back.

MunaAmin 11-18-2010 06:56 AM

I disagree. Every cup has a different size, 100g of anything is always 100g, measuring with 'cups' as units is rather estimating.

llkilgore 01-22-2011 05:50 AM

Originally Posted by MunaAmin (Post 25834)
I disagree. Every cup has a different size, 100g of anything is always 100g, measuring with 'cups' as units is rather estimating.

Maybe so, but I don't have an analytical grade scientific balance in my kitchen, and the cheap dietary scale I do have isn't nearly so accurate. The standard measuring cups and spoons in my kitchen may not be scientific grade either, but unless void volume is an issue (as with sliced fresh mushrooms, for example) I'm a lot more comfortable with the level of precision I get from them than from the scale.