Go Back  FitDay Discussion Boards > Forum Feedback and Support > FitDay Classic Feedback and Support
Activity not in database:  How to customize an existing activity? >

Activity not in database: How to customize an existing activity?

Community
Notices

Activity not in database: How to customize an existing activity?

Old 10-12-2011, 02:29 AM
FitDay Member

Default Question about exercise log

Hi,

I'm new to FitDay, and I have a couple of questions about how to log my exercise.

First - is it possible to add a custom exercise? I use different video games (such as Dance Dance Revolution) as exercise, but I can't find them on the log. These games track calories burned, so I'd like to enter that to my log.

Second - the number of calories burned for walking seems really low. I use two other trackers for walking (caloriesperhour.com and mapmywalk.com) and FitDay's estimate is way lower than both of those. Do you know of a good way to calculate calories burned while walking, using weight/height/distance/time/speed/heart rate/etc.

Thanks
Old 10-12-2011, 02:41 AM
Super Moderator

Hi there!

If it tracks your calories burned for you, you can simply enter another activity.

As an example - I do Zumba workouts fairly regularly, but there's no Zumba category either. Plus, the burn will be a little different from everyone based on effort, weight, height, etc.

I wear a heart rate monitor when I work out with Zumba, and it gives me an average calories burned per minute (usually somewhere around 13). Thus, when I do my Zumba workouts, I will just log them as an activity that burns 13 cals/minute (I believe I often use stationary biking with very vigorous effort, and sometimes running or rowing when my burn goes up or down). It doesn't matter the activity - but the burn DOES matter. Just figure out your cals/minute and find the closest activity you can. Works for me!
Old 11-07-2011, 02:30 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Exclamation Elliptical