Notices

How much is too much?

Old 02-04-2013, 03:24 AM
FitDay Member

Question How much is too much?

I've been on my diet for about 3 months now. I've lost 60 lbs and I'm feeling pretty good. My latest concern has been the difference between "feel the burn" and "oh crap I hurt something". I just can't seem to figure out if what I'm doing is right or wrong.

Let's say I'm walking and doing jog sprints and my leg starts hurting. Is this ok because I'm working out, or should I slow down because I'm damaging my body? I'm so confused it is even hard for me to explain, but any advice is much appreciated!

Hunter
Old 02-04-2013, 04:10 AM
FitDay Member

Congrats on the weight loss!

I'm no expert but if you start to hurt during your routine, you should stop and stretch or just walk. If the pain does not go away after stopping and or stretching, definitively stop what you're doing and start R.I.C.E.
Rest,Ice,Compression, Elevation and take some NSAIDs.
I've tried to run through sharp pain and dull achy pain only to find that I've made my injury worse. I pulled a calf muscle once and thought it was just a cramp and ended up being side lined for 3-4 weeks-not fun.

However, the day after exercising, you should feel a little sore & "tight", but your mileage may vary depending on how hard and long you exercise.
Old 02-04-2013, 12:38 PM
FitDay Member

if it gets any worse call your docter
Old 02-06-2013, 01:50 AM
FitDay Member

Thanks for the response guys. My left leg hurts alittle but it is getting better. I just keep stretching it whenever I can. I only jogged a mile last night as to not over do it.
Old 02-07-2013, 05:37 AM
FitDay Member

Default Congrats!

Congratulations Hunter on your journey, it's not easy...I've been there and still working at it.