Go Back  FitDay Discussion Boards > FITNESS > Exercise
What are the best yoga or pilates DVDs youve used? >

What are the best yoga or pilates DVDs youve used?

Notices

What are the best yoga or pilates DVDs youve used?

Old 04-04-2010, 10:39 AM
FitDay Member

Default What are the best yoga or pilates DVDs youve used?

I'm a beginner, so not looking for anything too intense, but wondering where to start and what you guys think the best DVDs are for either yoga or pilates?
Old 04-04-2010, 11:27 AM
FitDay Member

Gaiam.com has quite a large selection, I like their am/pm yoga for weight loss, yoga and pilates for abs dvd, and kundalini yoga. I especially like the kundalini b/c it's very "free form", there's no need to be flexible or coordinated with that one....two things I'm definitely not .
Old 04-08-2010, 08:09 AM
FitDay Member

Hey Lizzy, just wanted to say thank you. That website has so much stuff! Bought a beginner's AM/PM yoga dvd, beginners pilates dvd and a yoga mat. I'm excited!
Old 04-08-2010, 08:12 AM
FitDay Member

I love Winsor Pilates as well as Anna Caban's pilates (Gaiam). The Winsor series can be challenging, but even their advanced workouts have a modification available for every exercise!
Old 04-08-2010, 09:55 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Default DVD are really good...

...but I really recommend finding a class and teacher to get you started.

I know not everyone lives in an area where there are instructors, but if possible, nothing beats working with a teacher when you get started. It will ensure that you are doing the poses correctly, that you aren't causing any damage to your body. And a teacher will help you find safe modifications to poses that are just a little beyond your reach. There are several poses such as the warrior series and a number of the bent knee seated poses that can damage you knees if don't do them correctly - a teacher will guide you so that that won't happen