Notices

Am I wasting my time?

Old 05-14-2012, 04:59 AM
FitDay Member

Default Am I wasting my time?

I have tried to keep fit all my life (almost 55 now), having played rugby and football (soccer) until five years ago, when yet another knee injury ended my career, such as it was! I was an enthusiastic amateur and have what I can best describe as "an amateur rugby player's physique", ie I'm a big guy, not fat, but definitely not toned either. I'm 6'2" and havealways floated between 16.5-18 stone (approx 231 - 252 lbs). I realise that's a big swing, but I can carry extra weight without it being noticeable, so it creeps up, then I lose it.

Since I gave up sports, I have stepped up the gym work. I can't run (total knee replacement surgery last year), but my regime has been more or less the same for some twelve years - I'd say I average four or five visits per week, spending about an hour, hour and a quarter. I do a fifteen minute stationary cycle, then fifty squats with a large ball behind me (leaning against a wall - something I started doing after the knee op) - then four exercises on machines (arm curls, pec deck, overhead pull-downs and a sort of sitting-upright chest press - I do 3 x 10 reps of each).

I don't exert myself such that I'm grunting and straining (I go to the gym alone, and am a bit self conscious!), but I do increase the weight as it becomes easier. I then do five minutes cross trainer and finally another fifteen minutes on the cycle. The reasons for two sessions on the bike are that I feel it's aerobic and seems to get me sweating, something I want to do for weight-loss. I also read on the bike, so I find that therapeutic.