Notices

Experience: Do You Exercise?

Old 04-17-2012, 02:21 AM
FitDay Member

Question Experience: Do You Exercise?

Hello, all! I am new to the forum (well, new to fitday) but a long-time calorie counter. I am a college student (21 and healthy) and I find that I have limited opportunities to exercise at a gym. In a given day, I am usually in class or studying for 12 out of 16-hours day. Most of my activity comes from walking to and from class (40 minutes round-trip) and climbing flights of stairs. Since studying takes so much time and I am active enough (in my opinion), I do not have a strict gym schedule. I watch my diet and limit carbs.

I am curious what your experience has been with exercise:

*Do you exercise?
*Did you exercise during weight loss? How much and how much of what type (aerobic, anaerobic) of exercise did you choose?
*To the best of your knowledge, what type of "diet" did you choose - was it low in carbs, low in fat, high in protein, moderate protein, etc.?

Would love to hear other people's experiences!
Old 04-17-2012, 06:38 AM
FitDay Member

I use to compete in bodybuilding. I have been lifting weights for over 10 years now and I also do cardio. I do other types of metabolic workouts, squat jumps, box jumps, jumping jacks etc...

they kick my butt right now since my endurance is in the gutter and I am 40 pounds over weight. My goal is to lose about 15-20 pounds. I still have alot of muscle but also have managed to gain fat.

I eat, lift, sleep REPEAT!

Old 04-23-2012, 12:24 AM
FitDay Member

I exercise, and in the past I continued to exercise while losing weight. I didn't use exercise for weightloss, but I was doing a bodyweight routine (was traveling at the time) with a little running. My weightloss diet was mostly protien - I strove to get about 50% from protien with the rest about equally divided between fat and carbs. It was a reduced calorie diet and the weight fell off.