FitDay Discussion Boards

FitDay Discussion Boards (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/)
-   Exercise (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/exercise/)
-   -   Marathon /half marathon training (https://www.fitday.com/fitness/forums/exercise/2993-marathon-half-marathon-training.html)

smoore031 01-13-2011 08:56 AM

Marathon /half marathon training

Hi, has anyone here ever trained for one of these and were you successful. My training is going good so far. I am now running for about an 1hr 10 minutes---7 miles on my long days. If you have done one before how was your eating? I am following a good diet, but am sooooooo frustrated because I thought the pounds would come off quicker. I have lost 6 pounds since i started training on 12/26. I have lost inches and am doing some small lifting, but still ! UGH I am convincing myself to push forward---but come on allready----this is why people crash.
:p

nottango 01-13-2011 02:11 PM

Marathoner

I am proud to say I completed 4 marathons and several half's. That was several years ago - before kids. I expected the weight to just melt away, but that wasn't my experience (sorry). I learned to ignore the scale because I was heavier than I would've liked, but in phenominal shape. Six pounds in 3 weeks is not anything to scoff at. The thing about training is that you have to keep eating and rebuilding your muscles or you wont make it through the next session. Every runner is different, so you'll have to figure out what works best for you. I ran by times during the week (longest 50 minutes, I think) and by distance on Saturday mornings. I'd just get up and run during the week before work, but on Saturdays I'd make sure I ate something in the morning, and drink some coffee. Caffeine actually helps you not feel pain.