Hungry after Exercise

Community
Notices

Hungry after Exercise

Old 03-01-2010, 06:08 PM
FitDay Member

Default Hungry after Exercise

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone else feels famished after exercise and if so, do you give in and have something, and if so, what would be good to have, or do you ignore it? I'm actually pretty new at this.
Old 03-02-2010, 02:47 AM
FitDay Member

Lightbulb Me too!

I am absolutely starving after working out! Even after walking. Some things that have helped me :

stay hydrated - i make sure i take at least a liter with me, and keep sipping during my activity. Lots of times I think the signal is I am hungry, when I am really just thirsty.

Have something healthy on hand - carrot chips, celery sticks, some almonds.

Plan your exercise before a meal. If you're going to be hungry after working out, then it won't be a problem if it is time to eat anyways. I usually have a half glass of juice before my morning walk, then eat breakfast when I get back and am starving.

Go log your activity, see how many calories you burned. Then see how many calories are in what you want to eat - this makes it real easy for me to choose. The workout is fresh in my mind, and I don't want to negate my effort with bad food.

Good Luck!!

Carla
Old 03-02-2010, 05:57 AM
FitDay Member

There is a Special K strawberry protien mix that i drink while or just after working out. It's pretty tasty and gives a good dose of protien to help with hunger.
Old 03-02-2010, 07:29 AM
FitDay Member

It would be a bad idea to ignore it. If your body is telling you that it needs food or drink, you need the 'right' food to keep your body energized. When I exercise, I prefer to drink gatorade but its a personal thing, there are benefits to an energy drink over water.

Depending on your exercise intensity, having some food/ snack would be helpful. Personally, I like Tuna as it is packed full of protein and is low in calories. I find it fills me up for longer than having carbs.