Go Back  FitDay Discussion Boards > FITNESS > Exercise
Cardio in The Morning Before Breakfast or At Night After Dinner? >

Cardio in The Morning Before Breakfast or At Night After Dinner?

Notices

Cardio in The Morning Before Breakfast or At Night After Dinner?

Old 08-12-2010, 04:42 AM
FitDay Member

Default Cardio in The Morning Before Breakfast or At Night After Dinner?

I have heard conflicting views on this subject and I have done it both ways.

The rundown is this: Doing cardiovascular activity before eating burns what the body has stored. Doing the activity after the day's food and after dinner burns calories put on during the day eating the food. So it sounds like there's no particular benefit to either one. To me, it seems like they cancel each other out. But i'm no fitness expert.

Another thing that I have contemplated that doing exercises on an empty stomach might force your body to use up muscle mass. Which isn't good for anybody who's trying to gain lean muscle.

But, I may be wrong. If anyone here knows anything about this topic, please let me know. There might not be a definitive answer but any information would be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-12-2010, 05:08 AM
FitDay Member

I think as long as you are working out sometime during the day, thats the biggest thing. In all honesty, I bet there is probably <%5 difference youd see in 1 year either way you try it. As far as trying to figure it all out, I have heard a couple things.

First, burning fat takes oxygen. For me I workout in the evening and burn my dinner as you say. I sleep at night and hopefully burn some fat that I have stored up since I am doing little else and my body is getting plenty of oxygen.