View Single Post
Old 03-18-2013, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
kali87
FitDay Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default Gearing up for success

Hello all!

I used fitday in the past, and like most people have fallen off the bandwagon several times over the years. I am a 25 year old woman living in Alberta Canada. I am married, no kids.

I have done wicked work with a local trainer before, learned a bunch of ins and outs of what I enjoy doing. I really like weight training. I lothe anything to do with running (see below joint issues). I trained with her for a year straight and dropped from 255lbs to 220lbs and from BMI 38 to BMI 27. Unfortunately due to expensive sessions and losing my job, I had to stop visiting. During my peak I could deadlift 220lbs, and bench 110lbs. The lightest I have ever been as an adult is 195lbs during university (due to a super busy schedule and terrible food preparation habits).

The skinny (or not so skinny)
- I suffer from hyper mobility in most of my joints. This makes my joints crack and general pain all day long. I have lower back and knee issues which I see a chiropractor and physio when it gets really bad. I can also dislocate my shoulder at will, and have excessively weak ankles and wrists (numerous sprains – right ankle especially – if I sprain again I will require ligament surgery)

- I work a desk job with minimal mobility M-F 7am-330pm with 30 minute lunch. Beauty of it, is my work does have an on site free access gym. Which I WILL be using.

- I have a successful home based company. Means approximately 16-20 hours a week on my feet moving around. 6-8 times a year I do trade shows entailing 2-3 days straight of standing on hard cement plus doing booth setup and take down (physically demanding)

- I work a part time 5-7 hour a week job 2 nights a week (Tues and Thurs) right after my day time job. This is a standing/moving job that can work up a bit of a sweat (but minimal lifting and strength required).

- I have 2 large breed dogs – so I do go for longer walks 3 days a week.


Things I know I need to do:
- Insoles – I am slightly flat footed so I know this would relieve some of the knee pain as well as back pain. Also I don’t wear shoes around the house which I think is causing extra stress on my legs)
- More water – terrible for water intake.
- More sleep – usually during the week I get between 5-7 hours a night. I sleep very light and tend to get disturbed and not be able to fall back asleep.
- Learn balance. My food intake is usually not insanely unhealthy. I think I just eat too much. I hope this program will help me figure out where the excess weight is coming from. I tend to eat very cyclicly too. Ill eat a lot then nothing.
- Better meal plans. I will usually bring a lunch to work (except on Fridays when the staff go for lunch) but I find around 10:30 and 2 I am hungry again. I need better smaller meals to get me through the long days.

Im hoping I can read through some of the old forum threads on here to get some workout and meal advise….and hope that this is my answer! Accountability!

Thanks for reading
kali87 is offline   Reply With Quote