Notices

Weight training etiquette question

Old 03-17-2010, 05:22 PM
FitDay Member

Default Weight training etiquette question

I'm a 42 year old, flabby mom. After my husband starts his new job and we have an income again (finally), I'm thinking of re-joining my local gym. It's a very small gym, with a maximum of one person on duty at any given time.

I've done weight training before, many years ago, but I've never done squats, bench presses, or dead lifts, because I don't know how to get someone to spot me. I'm not good at approaching people for favors, and I'm not even sure if it's appropriate to interrupt someone's workout to ask them to spot me. Last time I was there, some of the staff were strong, fit-looking people, but some of them were not. I don't think spotting is part of their job.

So, as far as gym etiquette goes, in a small gym like this, what would be an appropriate way to get a spotter. (And no, I don't have a friend or money for a personal trainer.) I want to be able to just do my workout, without having to socialize with anyone, and I'm kind of afraid that if I ask someone to spot me, then I'll be obligated to chat. I'm a nice person, but not a chatty person.

(I'm not even sure if I'm strong enough to do any of those exercises with just the bar, but I'd like to find out.)
Old 03-18-2010, 12:25 PM
FitDay Member

elderwanda, First of all congrats on starting to workout again. I have been lifting weights on a more regular basis and have started to see results.