Notices

Interval Training and After Burn

Old 04-16-2010, 04:34 AM
FitDay Member

Question Interval Training and After Burn

I have been using interval training for about 3 years now and have lost about 5 stone so I am quite pleased with it. The pundits talk about the effect of after burn which make it better than aerobics. However, I haver not been able to find any figures or calcs for the caolries burned post excercise to get a comparison. Does anyone know if this is available anywhere.
Old 04-16-2010, 12:05 PM
FitDay Member

There is a term in exercise science: excess post-exercise oxygen consumption. This is the technical term for after-burn and is noticeably elevated after intervals, sprints, and heavy lifting, as compared to long-duration low-to-moderate intensity cardio. If you look up EPOC on pubmed or simply Google you should be able to find some charts or formulae that can estimate this for you depending on your activity.

-Nik
Old 04-17-2010, 10:59 AM
FitDay Member

Question

Thanks Nik. I have tried some of the sites. One had quite a lot of detail on the science side but was a bit heavy. Others had a general discussion and no detail. But none reallly gave a break down on how to work out the after burn calories for a given exercise. I suppose I'm looking for something similar to the activities section on this site but perhaps it doesn't exist.
Old 04-17-2010, 11:21 AM
FitDay Member

After looking into this more I've realized that calculating EPOC is difficult and impractical unless you work in a research lab that specializes in this stuff. For the purposes of balancing your calories I think it's safe to add 10-15% calories burned to your base metabolic rate depending on the intensity of your activity, since that's pretty much the range that a lot of studies have described, but it's pretty hard to nail it down to details.

-Nik
Old 04-19-2010, 02:48 AM
FitDay Member