Notices

Hello All!

Old 09-25-2012, 12:52 AM
FitDay Member

Talking Hello All!

Hi everyone

Newbie here!
I am an 18 year old girl and I'm tired of being fat, I want to lose weight and more importantly keep it off.

I've never tried anything like this before and I'm a bit lost because I've been reading a lot of different opinions on the best way to lose weight and I'm
So, I'd love to hear about your tips and methods that worked for you guys and I
Hope to find a weight loss buddy too! ( I'm awful at finishing things haha)

My stats
Height 5'8
Weight 192lbs
Goal Weight 182lbs (I'm taking this 10lbs at a time)

Alia
x
Old 09-25-2012, 05:29 AM
FitDay Member

Welcome Starry!
The best plan is the one that you can live with long term. Many of us take the view that this is not just a diet but a lifestyle change that we need to continue for the rest of our lives to be fit and healthy. Start by filling out your Fitday profile, if you haven't already, and setting a weight goal. That will help you with how much of a deficit you need to achieve daily to meet your goal. A pound of weight equates to roughly 3500 calories so if you eat 500 calories less per day then your body burns you will lose about 1 pound per week (500 x 7 days = 3500). If you have a calorie deficit of 1000 per day you will lose about 2 pounds per week (1000 x 7 = 7000).

When you achieve a calorie deficit your body will use your fat stores to make up the deficit but it will also convert some of your muscle. Since muscle fuels your metabolism the more you can maintain the better. You want more fat to be converted and minimal muscle. If you diet without exercise up to 75% of your weight loss could actually come from muscle and not fat. That is why I am a big proponent of weight/resistance training for men and especially women along with cardio workouts. There are lots of ways to work your muscles without steel weights or joining a gym like Body weight exercises and resistance bands.