Notices

How to track calories burned by breastfeeding??

Old 04-12-2010, 07:10 AM
FitDay Member

Question How to track calories burned by breastfeeding??

Hi everyone. I'm new to FitDay and am trying to enter my daily activity to get everything going. I have a 2 month old and am nursing. I know this burns additional calories, but I don't see anywhere I can input this type of "activity" to be included in my daily tracking.

Can anyone help?

Also - If anyone else out there is nursing, trying to lose the last 20-25 pounds of weight gained while pregnant, and can give me some pointers, PLEASE do so. It has previously taken me years to lose the weight.

A friend of mine did Atkins while nursing and shed a ton of weight, her doctor approved the diet. I'm starting the second week as we speak, but I don't see a change at all. I thought it would melt off so fast, like it did for her.

I use a pilates machine with cardio rebounder, 30 minutes, almost everyday.

I'm 5'4", currently 150 and want to get back down to 125. It took over 2 years to do it with the previous baby, and I don't want to wait that long this time!!
Old 04-12-2010, 12:04 PM
FitDay Member

I'm in almost the same boat as you. My little girl is 7 weeks old, and I want to lose 30 or more pounds. I am nursing. I don't know how to track it, sorry. I have no idea how many calories it burns. Is Atkins free, or is it one of those things you pay for like Weight Watchers?
Old 04-12-2010, 02:06 PM
FitDay Member

Don't think you can count it as an activity but you can customize your baseline metabolism and include the calorie burn that way. I don't know how to guesstimate how many calories though.
Old 04-12-2010, 09:29 PM
FitDay Member

Most of what I've read says nursing moms need to eat 300-500 additional calories from quality foods (dairy, veg/fruit, protein). I'm guessing that would be for a baby that is exclusively breast fed.
Old 04-13-2010, 04:14 AM
FitDay Member