View Single Post
Old 06-02-2012, 11:14 AM   #1318 (permalink)
mattymath
FitDay Member

Default Here I am; fat and hating it.

I am not one of the people who was always heavy. All through high school I was frustrated because I was so skinny. Couldn't I gain a little weight so I would be better at sports and the girls would like me? Careful what you wish for. I graduated from high school at 124 lbs. By the time I was 30 I had burst through the 200 pound mark. In early April I went on a short hike with my kids in Shenandoah National Park. Hiking is my favorite thing to do and thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail is my life goal. I couldn't make the hike. I was too fat. On the morning of April 13, 2012 I hopped on the scales I'd been avoiding. 298.6 pound. Geez. I was probably 300 the night before. I was wearing stretch size 48 pants and 3X shirts. I had actually just bought my first 4X. Time to do something.

Both of my kids run cross country. (my freshman daughter weighs in at a whopping 93 pounds). My son is runs, too. He takes after me, however and eats what I eat. He's a little bit overweight, but I don't want him to face obesity like I have.

I needed a goal and motivation and a way to lose this weight.

Goal. I want to weigh 170 pounds which would put me firmly in the healthy range for my 5' 11" weight and have me at my college weight where I felt the healthiest.

Motivation. Cross Country coach told me he is probably going to retire this year. I will apply for the job if I can run a 5K without walking and weigh under 200 pounds when the job comes open.

Method. I am a sweet freak. I am going cold turkey off of sugar. No potatoes and no white breads. I will log my food and keep myself under 1800 calories a day. I started running around May 13.

Progress so far. Well, it's June 2. I've been at this for 51 days and I just weighed this morning. 261.6 pounds. 37 pounds gone. Size 44 pants. 2X shirts.