Originally Posted by Rubystars
It's not technically a grain but it's a pseudocereal. Nevertheless I don't think it's any better or worse for you than any other type of whole grain or whole pseudocereal. With that said most of them are pretty healthy in my opinion although grains do tend to cause some inflammation in people this could be balanced by eating other anti-inflammatory foods.
I agree, it is just another grain/pseudocereal. It is, however, gluten free and for people who suffer from celiac disease this is one that they can eat. (wheat, oats and rye all contain gluten) My sis-in-law is celiac and she can eat this grain.