Notices

HI--Tips?

Old 04-06-2010, 02:56 AM
FitDay Member

Default HI--Tips?

Hi I've been using fitday for about 8 years now and JUST now got serious about my weight loss. Anybody got any tips for someone who has a hubby but isn't on board and has no family/friends to do the whole 'lifestyle change buddy' with? *headdesk*

Krishna
Old 04-06-2010, 11:30 PM
FitDay Member

My husband dosn't try to sabotage me or anything, but he is a picky eater and it's hard to get him to try new recipes. I don't really have anyone in my life that I can be a workout/diet buddy with, husband works nights and I work 3 10hr shifts a week, and I have 2 young kids so it's hard to schedule my workouts as it is. I can't imagine juggling my schedule to meet up with a buddy, especially since most of my real life friends have the same issues as far as schedules go... and that's why I post in the forums here almost every day
Old 04-07-2010, 12:15 AM
FitDay Member

Maybe a dog? They have to be walked everyday and are much more adoring and supportive than some husbands...
Old 04-07-2010, 02:08 AM
FitDay Member

My hubby is very supportive, but he's trying to keep weight on. He's on a gluten free diet, and he can't put on weight with rice alone so we have all sorts of food in the house that I shouldn't eat. We have a dog, but he doesn't get walked very often (but he's a 13 year old greyhound and can't do long walks anyway).

I ended up getting a personal trainer to change my lifestyle (yes, very expensive, but worth it for the lifestyle change). It seemed that I couldn't get out of the house to workout unless I had some outside motivation. Now I'm at the point that if I'm stressed or tired, a workout always perks me up and I'm ready to give up the trainer.
Old 04-07-2010, 02:54 AM
FitDay Member

Red face