Notices

Need some advice please!

Old 04-06-2010, 10:30 AM
FitDay Member

Default Need some advice please!

Hello. I'm pretty new to FitDay but I would love some advice from people dealing with the same things I'm going through. I was active and in great shape my whole life then last year (2009) I found something wrong with my back. It was an issue that happened while at work and pretty much disabled me. I have multiple things wrong with my back but most importantly, I stopped exercising. I've gained almost 100 lbs since last June...In March I started Swimming. I've been eating better and counting my calories in here. I swim at least 3-4 times per week for at least 30 minutes to an hour. I've read that swimming really doesnt help you lose weight but I'm hoping in my situation it will. Has anybody else had to go through anything like this? I've see 6 dietitions and nutritionalist and I've been tested for thyroid and all that...everything seems fine just have to find out how to get this weight off! Any replys will be great. Thank you for your time.

By the way: in June 2009 I was 158 pounds- March 2, 2010 I was 245 pounds! It's now April 6, and I'm down to 240
I know about the 3500 cal to lose a pound and anything else a dietition or nutritionalist would tell you! Thanks in advance guys.

Last edited by airbabygurl; 04-06-2010 at 10:36 AM. Reason: adding my weight
Old 04-06-2010, 02:17 PM
FitDay Premium Member

Wow ABG, so sorry to read about your back issues - going from a go-getter to a no-gettin'-around must have had some serious impacts on pretty much all aspects of your life. I am sure that if I was in your situation I would have gained a bunch of weight too.

Here's the key I keep reading over and over... persistence. You've lost 5 lbs in a about 5 weeks which is about a pound a week - that is really good progress, you deserve to be proud of the accomplishment.