Notices

New to this

Old 03-29-2010, 02:09 PM
FitDay Member

Question New to this

Hello! I am new to this, hope I do it right! I just turned 32 years old and decided enough was enough, it is time to take care of myself. I started my new "healthy life" 2 weeks ago today. So far, I have lost 11 pounds. I love how I feel (other than the growling tummy, haha). I am having a VERY hard time working up the energy to go and exercise. I am also having a hard time getting my husband to support me. Any suggestions on how to deal with this?

My other problem, probably my biggest problem at this point, is my evening eating. I have huge difficulty NOT eating at night! 8-10 pm is my worst time. I want salty, crunchy food. Any suggestions on how to overcome this? Or any healthy snack ideas to eat at that time?

I appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks!!
Old 03-29-2010, 02:48 PM
FitDay Member

Hi amylee! I'm an evening snacker, too. (And I love my salty snacks the best!) Two things that get me over the hump from 8-10 are 100 calorie bags of micro popcorn or hummus with fat-free pretzels. Lots of good, healthy hummus recipes online. If you're not into hummus, pretzels dipped in honey mustard is awesome, too.

Hope this helps and welcome! You'll find lots of helpful info here.
quinn
Old 03-29-2010, 03:01 PM
Super Moderator

Default Welcome, Amylee

It sounds like you are describing me with the nighttime snacking and salty snacks. I think Quinn's suggestions are good. I would also like to add rice cakes and baked tortilla chips and salsa, and also Goldfish, if you aren't going the low carb route. I never would have thought of the Goldfish, but I read the label one day and you can get about 60 of those suckers in an ounce for 130 calories. I started "saving" about 200 calories for evening, and would usually do a piece of fruit and then a salty snack a little later on.

If I want to snack more at night, I usually make a cup of herbal tea.