I've been lurking for too long

Community
Notices

I've been lurking for too long

Old 11-29-2011, 04:28 PM
FitDay Member

Default I've been lurking for too long

Hello everyone,

I have been logging my food for about 2 months but only started reading the forums.

I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes on August 30, 2011. I had no idea I was even remotely at risk so when I was told it felt like someone had kicked me in the gut. I allowed myself a pity party for the rest of the day and got up the next morning and hit the ground running.

I went out and bought a good food scale and armed with that and my measuring cups and spoons set out to bring this disease under control with the ultimate goal of getting off the meds.

I'm 56, 5'7" and had 73 pounds to loose. I say had because I am happy to report that as of today I have lost 31 pounds. The exciting thing is that I do not feel deprived in any way shape or form. I refuse to say I am on a diet because, for me, it is all about a lifestyle change.

I look forward to making new friends and be able to help others in their journey.

Linda
Old 11-29-2011, 08:38 PM
FitDay Premium Member

Originally Posted by wysiwyg295
Hello everyone,

I have been logging my food for about 2 months but only started reading the forums.

I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes on August 30, 2011. I had no idea I was even remotely at risk so when I was told it felt like someone had kicked me in the gut. I allowed myself a pity party for the rest of the day and got up the next morning and hit the ground running.

I went out and bought a good food scale and armed with that and my measuring cups and spoons set out to bring this disease under control with the ultimate goal of getting off the meds.