Notices

When is the right time to buy new clothes?

Old 11-21-2011, 03:05 AM
FitDay Member

Default When is the right time to buy new clothes?

i'm just wondering one what you think it's time to buy new clothes while losing weight.

i know i here the whole throw away your fat clothes but when is it the right time to go that size smaller?

also i'm a college student so i have a tight budget and can't buy a bunch of new cloths every month.

so would it be when your jeans need a belt to be held on anymore. or is it a good idea to go to a clothes store and try on a pair of pants a size smaller to see if it fits you?

just looking for some tips on this snice i don't have the money to quickly change my wardrobe.
Old 11-21-2011, 03:25 AM
Super Moderator

Hi Yuna,

I bought some new clothes when I hit about half of my goal - at that point, my jeans were saggy and lifeless and my shirts hung like sacks, and it just made me FEEL fat and ugly. I didn't go crazy buying new clothes (I bought 2 pairs of jeans in my new size) and a handful of nicer tops. I also bought clothing on sale/discount. These are "transition clothes" and a little retail therapy to make me feel good about losing weight.

I try on clothes in new sizes all the time just to see how I'm doing. It's a great affirmation that's different than what the scale says.

Once I hit my maintenance/"forever" size (which I'm hoping is a 6-8) I'll probably buy new clothes slowly and steadily. I fully think, though, that if you've lost a good amount of weight and your clothes just look bad, go ahead and buy a few things on sale to show off your changing body. I noticed that once I bought new clothes I instantly got a lot more comments about my weight loss (which had been hidden by baggy shirts and jeans), and that felt good too!
Old 11-21-2011, 04:20 AM
Super Moderator