Notices

Hair loss and low carb?

Old 04-02-2011, 05:59 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Default Hair loss and low carb?

Not sure if there is a relationship, but I have been doing low carb for a few months now and recently have experienced hair loss.
A quick google search showed me that this does happen sometimes.
Has anyone else had this happen? What have you experienced and learned?
What vitamins and FOODS might be of some help????
Thank you.
Old 04-03-2011, 10:49 AM
FitDay Member

Default For Me Extreme Low Carb = Hair Loss & Digestive Problems

I'm new to FitDay but was doing Atkins for a looong time. At first, the results were incredible. I did it strictly, sticking to 20 carbs/day for quite a few months. I lost almost 50 lbs.

Then eating low carb just became my lifestyle--really low carb--staying in Induction forever. This is when I started experiencing hair loss, dry hair, constipation, and dry skin. I stayed in the Induction phase because, even though I run 2 miles/day 4-5 times a week and go to the gym, if I increased my carb intake even just a little I would plateau big time. It gets frustrating when you are deprived of fun foods, you cook and bring your own veggie/protein lunch to work, are exercising, drinking water, and still going up and down the scale with the same 2/3 pounds, repeatedly. Finally, I took a little vacation from eating low carb, allowed some fatty junk like ice cream and chips into my diet, and (surprise) I put back almost 15 lbs of the 45 that I worked so hard to lose.