Is a scale necessary???

Community
Notices

Is a scale necessary???

Old 05-19-2011, 04:01 PM
FitDay Member

Default Is a scale necessary???

Hello everyone,,

I'm a mom in my early 40's. I'm a training consultant (staff development) most days and a blogger the other few. So my life is somewhat inactive. Just started Leslie Sansone today.

I'm just beginning my journey to lose about 25 pounds...or at least I think that's what I want to drop. See, my gauge so far has been my clothes and how they fit and my dress size (currently a 12).

Is this a god way to track progress or should I break down and buy a scale?

Thanks so much for your input and advice!

Teri

Last edited by mecompco; 05-19-2011 at 09:06 PM. Reason: Removed Commercial Link.
Old 05-19-2011, 09:11 PM
FitDay Premium Member

Welcome! I guess a way to quantify your weight-loss and/or fitness goals will depend upon what, exactly, you're attempting to do. If pure weight loss is the goal, a scale would seem appropriate. If you're more interested in fat loss/muscle gain, perhaps a body fat monitoring device would be better (or a combination device). You can also keep track of your measurements to monitor changes in your body.

Regards,
Michael

PS I removed your link as sites with a commercial slant are generally prohibited--nothing personal.

Last edited by mecompco; 05-20-2011 at 12:40 AM.
Old 05-19-2011, 11:02 PM
FitDay Member

I suppose it depends on what motivates you or helps to keep you in check. A scale is just a tool, for some it's helpful, for others it's a torturous device. Personally I find it very helpful, but ultimately it's up to you. Do you need a scale to lose weight. Absolutely not. But you do need to stay motivated over a stretch of time and maybe a way to gauge your success to help you stay motivated. Could be a scale, could be a tape measure, could be a favorite pair of pants, your belt, whatever. I use them all, because I need all the motivation I can get.
Old 05-20-2011, 03:19 AM