Go Back  FitDay Discussion Boards > FITNESS > Exercise
How do I calculate how much I need to exercise? >

How do I calculate how much I need to exercise?

Notices

How do I calculate how much I need to exercise?

Old 02-13-2010, 11:38 AM
FitDay Member

Default How do I calculate how much I need to exercise?

I am just starting out here... I have been planning this for far too long. I have found my biggest obstacle is not enough exercise. Please, if anyone could help me figure out how much exercise I need to do to lose weight. Is there a mathematical formula.. did I miss this when I registered and set up my profile? Any guidance would be really appreciated. Thanks, Shelz36
Old 02-14-2010, 05:27 AM
FitDay Member

Well, 3,500 calories equals a pound roughly. So if you burned 500 cals a day working out and eat a balanced diet you will loose 1 lb a week. you can lose more by either doing more exercise or eating less. Be careful not to eat too little. I think most recommend not getting less than 1500 calories per day.
Old 02-14-2010, 07:45 AM
FitDay Member

Glad to hear you are ready to exercise more. Try increasing things a little bit at a time. For example, if you walk 30 minutes a day, try running for five minutes of that time. Or pick up the pace, add some hills... anything to make it a bit harder each time. The only mathematical formula I have ever seen is how to calculate your heart rate. As far as how much -- do what your body can handle, and allow time to rest and heal. I found working with a personal trainer helps.
Old 02-15-2010, 02:01 AM
FitDay Member

Rule of thumb I learned in my nutrition class is everyone should exercise 30 mins a day (but start off slow and work your way up). To lose weight you need to exercise 60 mins a day. To maintain weight loss you need to exercise 90 minutes a day. This can be as simple as taking a walk and doing some strength training or calisthenics in your home.
Old 02-15-2010, 08:42 AM
FitDay Premium Member