Notices

Elliptical training

Old 01-09-2011, 04:42 PM
FitDay Member

Default Elliptical training

I've been doing the elliptical for about 3-4 months. I am up to 2 hours typically a day at a moderate pace. So far I am seeing little result. Doing weight watchers diet. What gives?
Old 01-10-2011, 02:00 PM
FitDay Member

Default How to lose fat on the elliptical

The best way to lose fat on the elliptical is to do high intensity interval training. Basically, it really pushes up your heart rate, calorie burning and afterburn. Google it to get more specifics. I lost 75 lbs doing it.
You'll need to keep track of calories in/out. And most importantly, work on increasing the lifestyle calories you burn. That's where 70% of your calories are burned. You can do it!
Old 01-11-2011, 05:03 AM
FitDay Member

I agree HIIT is the way to approach cardio. Increase the intensity not neccesarily the length of your workouts. (Most HIIT workouts are about 20 minutes, but you will be tired if your intensity is correct.)

There is an old adage (that I have unfortunately proven) that you can't out train a bad diet. I don't believe steady state cardio, as you have been doing, is the best approach to fat loss so I do recommend you make changes to how you are working out. But if your diet is bad then the exercise won't fix it.
Old 01-13-2011, 09:10 AM
FitDay Member

I do elliptical every day and have dropped 12 lbs so far. I set mine to a 4 incline, 10 resistance and a 10 incline, 10 resistance on the interval setting. What happens is you'll naturally speed up on the lower incline, and slow down on the higher one. This will force your muscles to adjust about every 2 minutes. best of luck to you!
Old 01-13-2011, 09:40 AM
FitDay Member