Notices

Activity Calculator

Old 01-04-2011, 03:25 AM
FitDay Member

Default Activity Calculator

Hi! I am new to FitDAy and a have a question about the activities page. When I put in my activity level it will only set for 24 hours and , of course, I am not active for 24 straight hours b/c of sleeping (yay!). I am fairly active with 2 kids and a house to take care of but I find it hard to believe that I am burning 2800 calories just by being myself (meaning without exercise). Is that possible?? Is there a way to change that? BTW, I do workout but that number is without including my that. Thanks!!
Old 01-04-2011, 03:44 AM
FitDay Member

Hi It sets for 24 hours because we are burning calories while we sleep. The amount is calculated on your weight and activity level. There is a certain amount alloted for the basic amount we burn while doing nothing. The heavier you are the more calories the activities burn -- there has to be some advantage to weighing more! It is quite possible with your activities you burn that much. Hope this helps. Mary
Old 01-04-2011, 04:31 AM
FitDay Premium Member

Originally Posted by baidom
Hi! I am new to FitDAy and a have a question about the activities page. When I put in my activity level it will only set for 24 hours and , of course, I am not active for 24 straight hours b/c of sleeping (yay!). I am fairly active with 2 kids and a house to take care of but I find it hard to believe that I am burning 2800 calories just by being myself (meaning without exercise). Is that possible?? Is there a way to change that? BTW, I do workout but that number is without including my that. Thanks!!
Some do consider FitDay's calorie burn (basal metabolism) estimate to be optomistic. You can always choose a more "sedate" lifestyle to get the number down. You can also do what I do, add 8 more hours of sleep.