View Single Post
Old 01-02-2011, 10:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
HankG
FitDay Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DC
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabeachgirlNYC View Post
No they are not. Meatless does not = vegetarian.

Twinkies have "vegetable and/or animal shortening... and beef fat".
I didn't realize that they were still (potentially mind you) using animal fat in twinkies. Most have converted over to vegetable shortening products. Twizzlers and beer are not only vegetarian but vegan. Twizzlers now has the PETA stamp of approval even. If you like, replace Twinkies with Oreos and you have the same net effect--vegetarian or vegan does not necessarily equal healthy. It is more than possible to eat a healthy vegetarian or vegan diet, and doing so will be very beneficial. However I'm just trying to point out that people shouldn't cleave to a surface label of a diet or food to determine whether it is healthy or not.
__________________
My FitDay Journal
HankG is offline   Reply With Quote