Notices

Counting calories and weighing the food??

Old 08-20-2010, 02:17 AM
FitDay Member

Default Counting calories and weighing the food??

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie, just started the calorie counting today, i'm a little confused though. Say I'm going to make a tuna sandwhich on whole wheat bread with light mayo. Do I have to enter all the labeling on the bread package, tuna can, and mayo jar to the fitday calorie count?? Also how will I know how much mayo to put as a serving size?? This is kind of confusing to me, sorry guys!
Old 08-20-2010, 04:21 AM
FitDay Member

Default create a custom food

Originally Posted by sweetkisses1227
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie, just started the calorie counting today, i'm a little confused though. Say I'm going to make a tuna sandwhich on whole wheat bread with light mayo. Do I have to enter all the labeling on the bread package, tuna can, and mayo jar to the fitday calorie count?? Also how will I know how much mayo to put as a serving size?? This is kind of confusing to me, sorry guys!
Hello,

Yes, unfortunately you probably should enter all of those things separately to get an accurate count of your calories. I suggest that you make one custom food for "tuna sandwich" so that you don't have to enter all that information every time you make one. Once you create a custom food it will always be in your custom food list.

As far as the mayo, use a measuring spoon and get the nutrition info from the jar. I am guessing that the serving size on the jar is probably one tablespoon, so if you use 1/2 tbsp just cut the values from the jar in half, and if you use two tbsp just double the numbers on the label, etc.

Best of luck.
Old 08-20-2010, 08:35 AM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by davej323
Hello,