Go Back  FitDay Discussion Boards > WEIGHT LOSS > Weight Loss Tips
Newbie! Need some help with low carb and low cal food options >

Newbie! Need some help with low carb and low cal food options

Notices

Newbie! Need some help with low carb and low cal food options

Old 10-19-2010, 12:36 PM
FitDay Member

Default Newbie! Need some help with low carb and low cal food options

Hello all. I'm a newbie and could really use some tips. Currently I am on basically a low calorie diet and also watching portions. My starting weight was 284 lbs. I am a 28 year old female of two boys, one of which is almost 10 months old. Before he came along I weighed around 260 but I've always been a big girl. I started my low cal diet along with exercise last week. In a week I've lost 4 1/2 lbs which I think is decent for a first week but I notice when tracking my foods that even though I'm eating relatively healthier foods than before, my carbs and fat content still seem to be in high percentages. I like yogurt a lot so I've been eating that but it is definitely pretty high in carbs. I also like to eat oatmeal for breakfast, again high in carbs. I haven't eaten hardly any bread at all since I started the diet and very little pasta too. I would really like to get my carbs to less than 100 a day and my fat to less than 80 grams a day, but I still want the foods I eat not only to be good for me but enjoyable as well. Any recommendations on good low carb and low fat foods to eat would be extremely appreciated! I'm especially looking for good options for lunches to take to work also.
Old 10-19-2010, 12:59 PM
FitDay Member

Congratulations on your 4.5 pounds!!! Welcome to the forum, this is a great place to get ideas and advice. I don't really know how much you want to lose, but you might consider checking out the 100+ thread, we're not so much about the number you want to lose, but we're all pretty certain we're in this for the long haul.