Notices

Carbs?

Old 02-01-2010, 05:04 AM
FitDay Member

Post Carbs?

Looking at my food log a majority of my intake is carbs- it is from fruits, vegetables or whole grains but still a lot of carbs. Even though they are from healthy foods could all these carbs be hindering my weight loss? I am not trying to lose a lot of weight just tone up...
Old 02-01-2010, 06:05 AM
FitDay Member

Sadly the answer is YES. I love the carbs too, and have a very hard time getting the ratios of carbs/protein/fats right! I only eat complex carbs, but too many carbs will still convert to sugar which will prevent weight loss....grrrrr!!
Old 02-02-2010, 02:59 AM
FitDay Member

I'm new to the program and I'm struggling with the carbs/fat/protein ratios as well. I'm really confused about the calories burned because they seem excessively high. Would love some help in these areas....Please.
Old 02-03-2010, 02:35 AM
FitDay Member

can you send your custom foods to another user. me and my wife are both on here and i dont want to have to make all the custom foods twice.
Old 02-03-2010, 02:50 AM
FitDay Member

Carbs and calories are a challenging thing to master ....so much depends on how much you burn and how you burn.

It is correct that too much carbs will convert to sugar then fat...none of us want that.

However...what you should concentrate on is the type of carbs and the "net" carbs.
Net carbs are the total amount of carbs minus the total fibre. We don't absorb fibre so it can be subtracted from the amount of carbs to get your net count..this is the number you should be concerned with when calculating. It's always better to consume the more complex carbs....dark green veggies and beans...and avoid white foods and sugar.