Notices

Sticking with it

Old 08-11-2010, 11:05 AM
FitDay Member

Default Sticking with it

Hey Everyone,

I am new to fit day. I have tried diet and exercise plans before and i do fine in the beginning, but I always give up. I DON'T want to give up this time. I want to get in shape! Do you have any tips on how to approach getting fit in a way that is sustainable over time? I suppose it all comes down to sheer determination in the end.
Old 08-11-2010, 11:19 AM
FitDay Member

Be diligent about logging into Fitday everyday to log all your foods and activities. It helps to keep me on track or give me a slap in the face sometimes.

Use the forums to your advantage!
Old 08-11-2010, 11:23 AM
Super Moderator

Actually, I would respectfully disagree. While a good helping of determination is involved, I think it all comes down to a commitment to making changes you can live with and sustain over time (maybe you mean the same thing; we just put different words on it?). You can be determined as all get out to stick to a diet, avoid this food or that, or exercise, but if the things you choose to change come more naturally to you, you are making a permanent change for your health that takes a lot less effort to stick with. So I guess my best advice would be to see what small change you could make first (cutting out soda or a really evil food, perhaps, or starting a nightly walk after dinner). Once that becomes a habit, make another change, replacing old bad habits with better ones. Many folks on here will attest to the fact that the new lifestyle becomes second nature and is just as enjoyable as the old one. My vote is for a gradual process; if you change too much too soon, or try to go "cold turkey," you have a greater chance of falling off the wagon. Good luck!

Last edited by cjohnson728; 08-11-2010 at 11:26 AM.
Old 08-11-2010, 11:43 AM
FitDay Member