Notices

Hey! Newbie Here

Old 07-30-2010, 05:45 AM
FitDay Member

@Fletch,
I am planning on starting on Monday. This weekend I am going to the grocery store to buy healthy foods. In the past I tried nutrisystem but it's pricey and I can't buy that every month. I definitely can say I lost while doing it. But, I want to start buying my own food and learning how to make my own healthy meals. I think I need to learn how to portion my meals. I don't wanna eat too much but at the same time I want don't want to still be hungry. I wanna be satisfied. I think my weakness is potato chips...I can eat a big bag on my own..oh my how I love them! Lol!!! I've recently became a big lover of sweet potato fries. They are yummy! lol ...I think I just need to learn how to portion everything. What are healthy fats?
For portion control, buy yourself a set of measuring cups and spoons and a food scale. Weigh and measure EVERYTHING you eat so that you can accurately record it in fit day. Check out nutrition labels on packaged foods - see what a serving size actually is! Even small bags or boxes can contain 2-3 servings.

It's okay to have a serving of sweet potato fries every now and then. If you don't, you'll end up bingeing on them later! Just make sure you eat ONE serving, count the calories, and eat lots of healthy things the rest of the day to go with it!

Foods to fill you up: lean sources of protein (turkey, skim milk, low fat cheese, etc.), fiber from fruits, vegetables and whole grains, and healthy fats. Stay away from things like simple carbs (white bread, sugar filled foods, white rice, etc.) because those won't fill you up and might even make you more hungry!

Speaking of healthy fats, those are unsaturated fats from things like olive oil, nuts, avocado, seeds, etc. For some information about healthy fats, check this out: UMIM: Healing Foods Pyramid - Healthy Fats | University of Michigan Health System