Notices

hypothyroidism and weight loss!

Old 07-21-2010, 10:43 AM
FitDay Member

Question hypothyroidism and weight loss!

HEy everyone! i am new to this new lifestyle, my health is in great danger, and would like to get my life on track. What are some great tips you can give me for eating and excersizing with hypothyroidism??? Looking for anything that can help! (open to anything, including supplements like minerals and vitamins as well)
Old 07-21-2010, 12:36 PM
FitDay Member

Hi Tasha, I also am new & have hypothyroidism. I am curious to learn what others have to say.
Old 07-22-2010, 05:37 AM
Super Moderator

what did your doctor suggest? I assume you are already medicated and regulated, correct? If so, shouldn't you be able to carry on with a normal lifestyle?
Old 07-23-2010, 12:51 AM
FitDay Member

I too have hypothyroidism. I had to have my thyroid removed last year due to tumors. I do any exercise my body will let me lol. I do watch my soy intake. High soy and high fiber content foods messes with my thyroid medication, so I avoid protein shakes and bars with soy. I still eat vegetables with high fiber, just not commercial food products. Also, you may want to take your calcium supplement at night because it can interact with medication (if you take one). I do eat a good breakfast in the mornings because it jump starts your metabolism. Also, green tea and ice water with lemons increases metabolism some as well. It has been a battle, but I have lost 8 lbs in a month. Good luck to you. Hope this helps. Let me know if you would like support on this.

Ultimate Goal Weight: 120 - 130 lbs.
Old 07-24-2010, 11:47 PM
FitDay Member

Default I too have Hypothyroidism

I was dxd with Hypothyroidism 4.5 years ago and take 112mcg of Synthroid now. I gained 40 lbs since then and that is what I am trying to lose. I weighed 180 5ft 5 in, and in the past 2 weeks I have lost 7lbs so I am 173.