Notices

Stressed Out Student

Old 05-27-2010, 08:08 AM
FitDay Member

Red face Stressed Out Student

Hello ladies!

I have a few things to combat with my weightloss goal (to lose 40lbs in 11 monthes). I have PCOS, am a full time college student, and am living with my anti-exercise & dieting girlfriend. Whenever I have a break through regarding weightloss, I either end up craving everything under the sun or feeling guilty about either leaving my girlfriend alone for half the day or dragging her to the gym.

Do you ladies have any tips as to how to fight off the cravings or an easier way to convince my girlfriend that going to the the gym is fun?
Old 05-27-2010, 01:42 PM
FitDay Member

My advice as far as cravings go is to eat small meals and snacks every 2-3 hours. You can also incorporate a lot of protein into these snacks around the time that you usually seem to crave, and you'll be left fuller for a lot longer. Drinking a lot of water consistently throughout the day also helps to feel full. And also, make sure you're not depriving yourself... if your body really is hungry, give it a healthy snack. It's hard to go wrong with a piece of fruit or something else light that's within your calorie range and/or diet.

As far as the gym goes, maybe consider doing something else together that might be fun for the both of you? Biking, going walking on a hiking trail, swimming, dancing, etc. There's a lot of exercise that you can do together that's fun for couples. But assuming that you'll also want to visit the gym as well - explain to her how important this is for you and your well-being, and ask for her support with it. You're important and your health is important, so make sure that you're taking care of yourself too.
Old 05-28-2010, 12:39 AM
FitDay Member