Notices

Drinking water

Old 11-19-2014, 01:58 AM
FitDay Member

Default Drinking water

Do you need 8 glasses of water a day?
Old 11-19-2014, 03:24 AM
FitDay Member

I am not an expert, but I have heard different amounts over the years.

One included an equation based on your weight to give you a base amount of water, then adding 1 glass for every carbonated or caffeine beverage you consumed, and an additional glass for every so many minutes of exercise to replace fluids.

At one time I noticed that some of the more intense people at the gym weighed themselves before the work out and then again after, replacing fluids to bring their weight back to the starting point. I doubted that until the day I saw a puddle around one of the exercise machines. One guy had sweat so much that you could see it just dripping off of him.

I also heard that women need different amounts of fluids during hormonal fluctuations during the month. I understand that with water retention. If I take in 8 a day, I am less likely to retain fluids in my hands and feet.

I have also heard that the 8 a day can include liquids used in cooking. Herbal teas are good as well.

I have also learned that too much water is a problem. My sister-in-law was rationed. Her doctor told her to keep in under 16 a day. As for water poisoning, I looked that up and you have to take in a lot of water in a short period of time. It would be pretty intense.

So that is everything I have heard about water. I try to keep it to my 8 a day.
Old 11-19-2014, 03:38 AM
Super Moderator

Need to survive, no. It will help with weightloss, especially if you are substituting over drink for water. I find when I drink 100 oz or more a day, the weight comes off easier, but that's what works for me. Everyone is different. I think a good rule of thumb is if you begin to pee clear, you have enough water.
Old 11-20-2014, 11:25 AM
FitDay Member

Originally Posted by JDoe30